In the fight against Ebola and Xenophobia,
African artists unite.
The song, which debuted at the 2015 edition of
the awards on Saturday 18 April, features 180
musicians from seven African countries – Nigeria,
Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Kenya, Mozambique,
Cameroon and South Africa – singing for peace
and tolerance on the continent.
“It is a collaboration called Africa Against Ebola
and Xenophobia,” the organisers said. “It
features 180 artists from across the African
continent and is a demonstration of the beautiful
music that Africans can make when we work
The musicians
The African artists who contributed to the song
Nigeria: Harrysong, Iyanya, Praiz, Tiwa Savage,
Emma Nyra, D’Prince, Reekado Banks, Di’Ja,
Victor Pedro, Yemi Alade, Banky W, Sean Tizzle,
Emmy Gee, Patoranking, Kcee, Iceberg, Dr Sid,
Don Jazzy and Mosa
South Africa: Thembisile Ntaka, Kurt Darren, Elvis
Blue, Sfiso Ncwane, Pastor Jabu Hlongwane,
MXO, Thandiswa Mazwai, Donald, Khaya
Mthethwa, Dr Sid, Mosa, Steve Kekana, Ziyon,
RazorKutt, Moneoa, Kelly Khumalo, PJ Powers,
Danny K, Lloyd Cele, Mathew Gold, Loyiso, Zamo
and RJ Benjamin, as well as the groups
Mafikizolo, Mahotella Queens and Joyous
Zimbabwe: Gigi LaMayne, Melly Mel, GPB, LyM-C,
Thaiwanda and Thailand, Cameroon: Wax Dey
, Kenya: Liz Ogumbo, Mozambique: Gabriela and
Lizha James, Tanzania: Diamond
The musical director was Lindelani Mkhize,
assistant musical director Oskido and sound
engineer Richard Mitchell.